Library Haul (aka Drowning in a Pile of Books)

img_1169

📚Recently, I looked through the Boston Public Library catalog and found many books that have been on my TBR list for awhile, so I did what any sane person would do and checked out all of them. I’m not sure if I’ll get to reading every book before the deadlines, but I guess challenge accepted?

Anyway, here’s a list of my library finds!

32620332

 

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

I’m so excited to read this book! The reviews have been amazing, and it sounds like the perfect summer read.

 

35566332

 

Bone Music by Christopher Rice

The synopsis for this book makes it sound like just the kind of book I’ve been wanting to read.

 

18498558

 

Bird Box by Josh Malerman

This book has been on my to-read list for a very long time, so I was really excited to find it available!

 

35520564

 

The Big Ship at the Edge of the Universe by Alex White

This book just came out and was available as an eBook! My favorite author loved this book, so I feel like I will too despite my sci-fi aversion.

 

5082599

 

Practice Makes Perfect by Julie James

What’s not to love about a law firm romance? This was recommended for people who love The Hating Game, so count me in.

 

30753733

 

Keep Her Safe by K.A. Tucker

I’ve never met a K.A. Tucker book that I didn’t like. I’ve been waiting to get my hands on this for awhile!

 

25558608

 

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

Now that the third books is out, it’s about time that I return to this series.

 

24504274

 

Pucked by Helena Hunting

A funny sports romance is the kind of book I need in my life right now.

 

Other Library Finds:

3586156332912923186660471581902829588376

2740500627824826350685852928388425733990

Let Me Lie by Clare Mackintosh
The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis
Half a King by Joe Abercrombie
The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker
The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch
All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastri
The Dry by Jane Harper
Ice Wolves by Amie Kaufman
The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee
Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

On the Waiting List:

3609969115839976350687622410028536204070

3613603035068830308097863341312834273236

All the Ever Afters by Danielle Teller
Red Rising by Pierce Brown
What Should Be Wild by Julia Fine
Space Opera by Catherynne M. Valente
The Book of M by Peng Shepherd
Two Girls Down by Louisa Luna
My Oxford Year by Julia Whelan
A Reaper at the Gates by Sabaa Tahir
Bear Town by Fredrik Backman
Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

Some of these books I’m waiting for won’t be available for awhile (I’m #62 in line for Little Fires Everywhere) but judging by the list of books I already have, that’s probably a good thing!

WWW Wednesday: June 13th, 2018

img_1473

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words, which asks you to answer the following questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently Reading

36626748[1]

 

The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager

*ARC received from Netgalley via the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

A summer camp thriller/mystery novel is just what I needed in my life right now. I’m so happy I got approved for this!

 

 

29456569[1]

 

Lifel1k3 by Jay Kristoff

I never thought I would read another book about robots, but here I am. I’m really excited about this one! All the reviews have been amazing.

This will be the first book I’ve read by Jay Kristoff.

 

 


Recently Read

Circe by Madeline Miller
The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang


What I (May) Read Next

31179006[1]Two proud kingdoms stand on opposite shores, with only a bloody history between them.

As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what’s right, even as her powers grow beyond her control, will set Branwen against both her best friend and the only man she’s ever loved.

 

40182855In the idyllic Atlanta enclave of Sugar Mills, four women are struggling to keep their marriages alive in the hectic whirl of middle-class suburbia.

Adventurous Jess adores her sportswriter husband, but he’s more likely to fall asleep than respond to her creative attempts at seduction. Delia agreed to an open marriage when she had nothing to lose; but now that the reality of her choice has settled in, she feels a void no direct sales commission can fill. Infertility has left ex-tennis star Carras feeling powerless and frustrated. PTA president Maizy is desperate for acceptance in the Sugar Mills community, and with her health-conscious husband.

Enter Parker, a gorgeous young tennis pro moonlighting as a male escort. Could a little well-orchestrated jealousy cure the marital blues? Will a risky scheme put the spark back in their suburban marriages, or burn everything they’ve worked for to the ground?

Mystery & Thriller Week

img_2798

It’s Mystery & Thriller Week on Goodreads, so I thought it would be a great opportunity to talk about some books that I have read and plan on reading!

Recently Reviewed:

Reviews:

The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn
Not That I Could Tell by Jessica Strawser
Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan
Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney

Currently Reading:

I received an ARC of Our House by Louise Candlish from NetGalley.

35924499

When Fiona Lawson comes home to find strangers moving into her house, she’s sure there’s been a mistake. She and her estranged husband, Bram, have a modern co-parenting arrangement: bird’s nest custody, where each parent spends a few nights a week with their two sons at the prized family home to maintain stability for their children. But the system built to protect their family ends up putting them in terrible jeopardy. In a domino effect of crimes and misdemeanors, the nest comes tumbling down.

Now Bram has disappeared and so have Fiona’s children. As events spiral well beyond her control, Fiona will discover just how many lies her husband was weaving and how little they truly knew each other. But Bram’s not the only one with things to hide, and some secrets are best kept to oneself, safe as houses.

To Be Read:

  1. Our Kind of Cruelty by Araminta Hall

    This is (one of) my Book of the Month picks for the month of April, along with Circe by Madeline Miller. The synopsis sounds so creepy and weird… I can’t wait to read it!

  2. Keep Her Safe by K.A. Tucker

    My first K.A. Tucker book was Ten Tiny Breaths, which is one of my favorite books. I’ve read several other spin-off books in this series, but I haven’t touched one of her books in awhile. I’m especially excited to read a thriller book from her, since many of her books are romance.

  3. Bird Box by Josh Malerman

    I’ve had Bird Box on my TBR for over two years. I don’t know why I haven’t read it yet, but something about this book has kept it near the top of my list. It sounds right up my alley. Also, apparently it’s getting made into a movie?! Starring Sandra Bullock?! So now I have no choice but to read it as soon as possible.

Top Ten Tuesday: Books on My Spring TBR

img_2469

*Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl to bring bookish friends together. A new topic is posted each week.

This week’s topic is about books that I want to read this spring.

Already Own:

I’m so excited to read these three books, especially! I have all three in paperback, and the covers are gorgeous. If We Were Villains is marketed as perfect for fans of Donna Tartt’s The Secret History, so of course I had to buy it. Spring still seems a long way off in New England (with another storm on the way) so I bought The Snow Child to add to my growing pile of winter reads. Norse Mythology will be my third Gaiman book (and because it’s a Gaiman book, I already know it will be good).

To Purchase:

The Hating Game and From Lukov With Love were both featured on this post by Bree from In Love & Words about funny romance novels. I’ve been looking for something funny and romantic (since I’ve been reading a lot of dark stuff lately) so I’m so excited to read these! I’ve been hearing nothing but praise for Children of Blood and Bone, so this one is also next up on my purchase list.

Advanced Reader Copies:

I was just approved for Our House on Netgalley, though it may take awhile for me to get to it. I’ve had The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle for awhile as well. I’m halfway done, but I’ve had it on hold for a few weeks now. I’m hoping to get back to reading it and finishing soon.

Anticipated Releases:

Both Circe and Sky in the Deep come out in April, and are my most anticipated releases of spring!